Skip to content

Configuring Desktop Features

Table of Contents

 

Configuring Desktop Features

 

By default, all features in the Desktop/App are enabled.  Features include File Upload, File Download, Screen Sharing, Analytics, and Snapshots.  If not needed, you may wish to disable a particular feature for all users. When disabled, the feature is greyed out in the Desktop/App top panel.

 

To enable / disable a feature:​

  1. Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system (e.g. mycollege.apporto.com) and log in to the system using your Admin credentials.
  2. Click the Setup  icon in the Navigation panel.
  • The Setup screen displays.

      3. Select the Help Menu option from the SETUP menu.
 
          

  • The Help Menu screen displays.
  • The Help Menu screen shows a listing of links available through the HELP menu, and shows the MENU name and URL for each link.
     

      4. Click the New button.

         

  • The Add Menu Item dialog displays.
     

      5. Enter a name for the menu item in the Name text box.

  • Make the name descriptive of the site content, such as “Knowledge Base” or “FAQ.”
     

      6. Enter the Uniform Resource Locator for the linked site in the URL text box.

  • Enter the full URL for the linked site, including “https://” or “https://” as applicable.
     

      7. Click the Add button to add the menu item to the HELP menu.

  • The Add Menu Item dialog closes, the Help Menu screen refreshes to display the added menu item, and the message “Menu item (name) added successfully” shows at the top of the screen.
     

      8. Click the Save button to save your changes to the HELP menu.

 

To edit an item in the HELP menu:
 

  1. On the Help Menu screen, click the OPERATIONS button for the desired MENU item, then choose Edit.

    • The Edit Menu Item dialog displays. The dialog shows the current Name and URL for the selected MENU item.

       

  2. Edit the Name and/or URL for the MENU item as desired.
     
  3. Click the Submit button to save your changes.

    • The Edit Menu Item dialog closes, the Help Menu screen refreshes to display your changes, and the message “Menu item (name) has been updated successfully” shows at the top of the screen.
  4. Click the Save button to save your changes to the HELP menu.

     

To delete an item from the HELP menu:

 

  1. On the Help Menu screen, click the OPERATIONS button for the desired MENU item, then choose Delete.

    • The message “Do you really want to delete this menu item (name)? This action cannot be undone.” displays.
  2. Click the Confirm button to delete the menu item. (Click the Cancel link to cancel the deletion and leave the menu item unchanged.)

    • The Help Menu screen refreshes with the selected menu item removed from the list.